rootzbiketour


AMSTERDAM WOOHOO!
26/08/2009, 21:59
Filed under: Holland

On day 6 we finally got to the city who gave birth to capitalism apparently. We’ve now been here for a week, chilling with Muz’s friend Ali and his dog Cina. Also finding front panniers and racks as we don’t want to have the trailer anymore. It was hurting Muz’s knees, so Amelie took it in Holland when her knee got better (we’re taking turns!), but it is just too much drag, as an Englishman met on the way told us. He was going to festivals in Holland and in England, travelling on his bike with full panniers and a bucket and an umbrella attached to the top tube of his bike: “an Englishman doesn’t travel without an umbrella, take an umbrella with you and it’ll never rain!”. He was quite nice and gave us some tips about where to sleep, and how things work in the Netherlands.

We also met Laurence James in Den Haag, a great man! Muz was just asking where he got his front racks from as we were looking for some, and when we asked what he wanted for them he said “just get me a strong drink!” Nice one Laurence!

And we’re also spending time on the internet finding wwoof farms and writing this blog! Yes we’re a bit late, but we’re catching up! now we hope we’re going to be able to update the blog more regularly.

Photo-0062Here’s Ali with his dog Cina, really nice dog! In the house there is also two cats, Poes (pronounced Puss) and Zappa.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Photo-0066Here’s Zappa!

 

.

.

.

.

.

And here’s a few pictures from Amsterdam

Photo-0064Photo-0065

Photo-0063

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Cool blog! Keep it going and keep me posted.
Poes is what they say in South Africa. “Jou Ma’s se Poes” which means ……
Really cool Trip man!!
Stu

Comment by Stuart

Thanks for this nice blog ! I love pictures and comments. Love you. Mum

Comment by Fanny

Salut Amélie,

Comme je demande régulièrement à ta môman ou vous en étiez avec votre projet de tour du monde à vélo, elle m’a transmise l’adresse de votre blog. J’espère que cela ne vous gêne pas….
Si oui, ce ne sera pas grave, je ne serais pas vexé, tout va bien !
Je vous souhaite beaucoup de courage, le minimum d’ennuis musculaires et des rencontres de toute beauté et pas seulement des paysages magnifiques…
Bises du copain de ma meilleure amie. Euh !je ne suis pas sur que je sois bien clair sur ce coup là !

Comment by Marco

bien sur que ca nous derange pas! tu peux d’ailleurs donner l’adresse du blog a toute personne interessee!
Merci pour le comment, ca fait plaisir, et a la prochaine!
Bises au copain de ma meilleure maman. Euh, mais j’en ai qu’une! bon pas sure que je sois claire non-plus!

Comment by muzzzam

rentrons juste de vacances et découvrons votre blog avec grand plaisir.C’est super d’être grâce à ça un peu avec vous et de pouvoir partager des instants de votre périple Bisous

Comment by FANFAN ET FRANCK

YO GANSTAAAAZZZZZ
uhhhhhhh, look at us we have a blogggg, uhhhh
its nice to have your news
I was patra with the clandestine immigrants for the reportage, it was intense. now on the greek islands chill. whats your route plans???
bizzzz mes amoureux.

Comment by stefanos

YES… ELLA MALAKA!! JE COME GET YOU
we stayin in some squatted farm at moment, then we head south. when u in marseille as we pass czech then thro italy, maybe we get there oct/nov.
did u shoot medium format? show me some pictures, i come to squat your darkroom. u best get ready. yeah cafe equit b good,,

Comment by muzzzam

JOYEUX ANNIVERSAIRE MURAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT !!!
J’aurais préféré te le dire au téléphone 😀

C’est super cette aventure que vous menez les amoureux et ça vous ressemble tellement que ça ne m’étonne pas lol

Et grâce à votre blog on vous suit partout: merci pour votre générosité !! ^^

Je pense à vous, et comme on dit en arabe: “Trek Salama”, que le Salut soit sur votre route…
d(^_^)b

BIG HUGZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

Malika

Comment by Malika

yo amelie (and murat!)

looks amazing amazing. are your legs tired yet?
come to syria – it’s lovely here!

x

Comment by kelly

yeahhhhhhhhh ma Mélie!!!!
Trop de la bebom ton website dis donc!! J ai pas gavé de temps pour tout y lire mais des que j’ai internet je vais dépioter vos dérives et délires à deux roues!! Franchement, c’est énorme ce que vous vivez…
Moi je suis speed j ai deux classes a l’année pres de Bourgoin Jallieu, donc c taff, taff, taff et du coup, je pense que je vais m’arreter un moment pour vous rejoindre ou que vous soyez a la fin de l’année prochaine!!!
Vélotez gaiement et prenez en plein la tête les amis
forcement je vous envoie des good vibes de ouf !!!!
gros bis
alex

Comment by alex

yes man come and exhibit in Marseille !! what’s up guys, no news since a week ?? it’s nice to have news and follow you around the world…. ça va être la fête si vous passez à Marseille, j’ai trop hate de voir vos petites têtes toutes bronzées ! jvous embrasse très fort mes ptits chéris, bisous bisous

Comment by po




Leave a Reply

